Open Letter about NP Šumava

Letter to government representatives and parliament parties for support of functional nature protection in the Sumava National Park and Landscape Protected Area

Dear lady and gentlemen,

Petr Nečas, Prime Minister of the Czech Republic, Chair of ODS
Miroslava Němcová, Chair of the Parliament of the Czech Republic
Milan Štěch, Chair of the Senate of the Czech Republic
Tomáš Chalupa, Minister of Environment of the Czech Republic
Karel Schwarzenberg, Chair of TOP 09
Radek John, Chair of VV
Bohuslav Sobotka, Chair of ČSSD

Note to:
Jan Stráský, Director of the Sumava National Park and Landscape Protected Area
Tomáš Tesař, Deputy Minister - Director of Nature protection Section
Bořivoj Šarapatka, Chair of the Subcommittee for nature and landscape protection, Parliament of the Czech Republic
Milan Šťovíček, Chair of the Committee for environment, Parliament of the Czech Republic
Radim Šrám, Chair of the Committee for environment AV ČR
Ivo Hána, Chair of the Board of scientific institutions of the Czech Republic
Institutions of the 6th section of biological and ecological science AV ČR Biological faculties of the Czech Republic

České Budějovice 21. 3. 2011

Dear ladies and gentlemen,
This letter expresses the concerns of scientists and experts who have been engaged in the problems concerning the environment and nature protection in the Šumava National Park for a long time. We are worried about the appointment of Mr. J. Stráský as NP Director and his current activities in this role.

We do not agree primarily with the following measures:

As scientists and experts we urge that the territory of the National Park should be respected. Also, we recommend the use of the latest scientific knowledge in protecting the cultural and natural heritage of the Park. We strongly urge that great weight should be given to the purpose for which the Sumava National Park was established. Otherwise, there is a threat of violation of the principles and ethics of nature conservation in general.

Prof. Ing. Hana Šantrůčková, CSc.
Chairman of ČSPE